Author Topic: OBD2 to USB Question  (Read 5564 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

September 23, 2014, 09:59:15 PM on

Offline Fe Man (OP)

  • Tomcat
  • Location: Roswell, GA
  • Posts: 142
  • Activity Meter:
    0%

Regarding 2006 Triumph Tiger and TuneECU:

Are all the OBD2 to USB cables the same?
Found one on Amazon for less than $9.00 US....
http://www.amazon.com/Obdii-Diagnostic-Adapter-Converter-Cable/dp/B002WIN8VQ/ref=pd_sxp_f_pt

September 23, 2014, 10:24:22 PMReply #1 on

Offline Bixxer Bob

  • Cool Cats
  • Chatty Cathy
  • *
  • Location: Norfolk, England
  • Posts: 5889
  • Activity Meter:
    0%
  • I make the mistakes so you don't have to.....
  • LOCATION: Norfolk, England
I don't think so as some people have had problems with some of the Chinese ones.  I use my Tuneboy cable so have never needed to buy one.  However, I notice that the page linked to by Tom specifies the type of cable needed by TuneECU.
I don't want to achieve immortality through prayer, I want to achieve it through not dying...

September 23, 2014, 10:34:31 PMReply #2 on

Offline Fe Man (OP)

  • Tomcat
  • Location: Roswell, GA
  • Posts: 142
  • Activity Meter:
    0%
I couldn't find any info about what cable....

September 23, 2014, 10:45:11 PMReply #3 on

Offline Bixxer Bob

  • Cool Cats
  • Chatty Cathy
  • *
  • Location: Norfolk, England
  • Posts: 5889
  • Activity Meter:
    0%
  • I make the mistakes so you don't have to.....
  • LOCATION: Norfolk, England
I couldn't find any info about what cable....

 :icon_rolleyes:

Copied from the TuneECU Android front page, near the bottom:

1.1  Configuration required :
• Smartphone or Tablet Android version 4.0 minimum, dual Core 1.2 Ghz mini.
• Cable USB OBD2 FTDI (The cable is the same as the windows version)
• Adapter USB/micro (cable OTG) if needed
• Optional: Interface Bluetooth ELM327, as of version 1.4
I don't want to achieve immortality through prayer, I want to achieve it through not dying...

September 24, 2014, 12:16:31 AMReply #4 on

Offline Fe Man (OP)

  • Tomcat
  • Location: Roswell, GA
  • Posts: 142
  • Activity Meter:
    0%
Thanks Bob!

It never occurred to me to look into Android/Bluetooth when I was planning to use a hardwired connection to my laptop...

 :icon_scratch:

September 24, 2014, 11:08:32 AMReply #5 on

Offline Tom_Hamburg

  • Felis Domesticus
  • Posts: 52
  • Activity Meter:
    0%
Fe Man,

Sources for USB_OBD2-cable and/or Plug Adaptor, can be found here: http://www.tuneecu.com/TuneECU_En/links.html

Regards,

Tom
www.tuneecu.com

Triumph Speed Triple 1050, Triumph Rocket Roadster

September 24, 2014, 03:20:55 PMReply #6 on

Offline TT

  • Felis Domesticus
  • Posts: 53
  • Activity Meter:
    0%
  • nOObie
  • LOCATION: Ystradgynlais
Thanks Tom, useful info. I'm going to install app on my HTC one this weekend,

Are there set mapping data on the app, for instance I've removed the plate in my airbox which restricts the air flow, and I'm going to be fitting an aftermarket can this weekend, will there be a Map to suit on the app? 

September 24, 2014, 06:01:40 PMReply #7 on

Offline Sin_Tiger

  • I have the POWER !
  • Cool Cats
  • Chatty Cathy
  • *
  • Location: Singapore / Scotland
  • Posts: 5571
  • Activity Meter:
    0%
  • Max the Moderator
The cable supplied by Triumph Twin Power works fine.
I used to have long hair, took acid and went to hip joints. Now I long for hair, take antacid and need a new hip joint

September 25, 2014, 08:49:59 PMReply #8 on

Offline Bixxer Bob

  • Cool Cats
  • Chatty Cathy
  • *
  • Location: Norfolk, England
  • Posts: 5889
  • Activity Meter:
    0%
  • I make the mistakes so you don't have to.....
  • LOCATION: Norfolk, England
You'll need a micro USB male to standard USB female to hook up to your phone....   waiting for mine coming  :nod

The ability to carry everything you need for a remap, reset etc on your phone + a cable I find comforting somehow....  :icon_rolleyes:
I don't want to achieve immortality through prayer, I want to achieve it through not dying...

September 25, 2014, 09:38:46 PMReply #9 on

Offline TT

  • Felis Domesticus
  • Posts: 53
  • Activity Meter:
    0%
  • nOObie
  • LOCATION: Ystradgynlais
Same here, got the app and ordered the cables....I take it the app will automatically find the map I've downloaded.

September 25, 2014, 10:09:11 PMReply #10 on

Offline Fe Man (OP)

  • Tomcat
  • Location: Roswell, GA
  • Posts: 142
  • Activity Meter:
    0%
So I ordered a cable from Amazon that according to the reviews, works on the Triumph and TuneECU.

Well no such luck!
Had to download software to open the DLL files.
Updated drivers, nothing.

I hate this computer bullshit! All I want to do is fix my Tiger!!!!!
It's never easy.


Does anyone have an Amazon link for a cable that works? Amazon Prime gets it here tomorrow!


September 25, 2014, 10:16:43 PMReply #11 on

Offline TT

  • Felis Domesticus
  • Posts: 53
  • Activity Meter:
    0%
  • nOObie
  • LOCATION: Ystradgynlais
Are you using Android or your laptop?

September 25, 2014, 10:18:37 PMReply #12 on

Offline TT

  • Felis Domesticus
  • Posts: 53
  • Activity Meter:
    0%
  • nOObie
  • LOCATION: Ystradgynlais
It does mention that its for 2009 onwards....

September 25, 2014, 10:19:30 PMReply #13 on

Offline Fe Man (OP)

  • Tomcat
  • Location: Roswell, GA
  • Posts: 142
  • Activity Meter:
    0%
Are you using Android or your laptop?

Laptop. I have one working Windows XP laptop in the house otherwise all Macs.
My daughter has an Android tablet however.

September 25, 2014, 10:31:43 PMReply #14 on

Offline Fe Man (OP)

  • Tomcat
  • Location: Roswell, GA
  • Posts: 142
  • Activity Meter:
    0%
Under the TuneECU software, the option tab allows for one to select either serial or USB but I'm unable to change it as it appears to not recognize the cable plugged into the USB port.

I'd give someone $500 to fix my bike and me not have to play with computers!