News:

Welcome to the TigerTriple forum! Over the years we have gathered lots of great information on all things Triumph Tiger. Besides that, this is a great community that is willing to help you keep your Tiger moving. So, feel welcome! Also, try the search button for answers to your questions. If you have any questions, PM me on ghulst.

Main Menu

Not charging with Battery Tender

Started by wavery, December 17, 2014, 09:30:50 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

wavery

I'm new to the Girly world and I don't know if this is related.  The short story: when I hook up a Battery Tender to my 2005 Girly, it indicates that it is NOT charging (blinking red light).

The background: bought the bike last September and charging problems were evident on the ride home.  The battery died and I barely made it back to the shop on the return trip before the whole system went.  They spent a half day 'fixing' the charging system and I haven't had a problem since. Now with the cold weather, I'm trying to keep a Battery Tender connected to the battery but it just gives me the blinking :nono red light.   I've tried connecting with the adapter and directly to the terminals with the same result.

Is this a common problem or related to the Section topic? 

Thanks for any insight!

Bixxer Bob

Not heard of this before, but the first thing I would check is polarity.  The tenders won't allow reverse connections.  I'm not accusing you of being an idiot, just that there way be something amiss with the tender wiring or hook-up leads. 

If it's not that, take the battery off the bike and try on the bench.  If it still won't charge, either the battery or the tender is toast.