Author Topic: Adaption process with O2 sensor eliminator fitted.  (Read 3852 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

August 21, 2015, 04:45:14 PM on

Offline Fentible (OP)

  • Tiger Cub
  • Posts: 45
  • Activity Meter:
    0%
  • nOObie
  • LOCATION: Gateshead, United Kingdom
I'm a bit confused by this. I'm about to refit the TOR pipe I got with the bike, a pre 20 VIN 2004 Tiger 955i, and load the appropriate map a custom 10121, off the Tune ECU site.

Changing the map doesn't trouble me what does is the subsequent 'Adaption' Mine shouldn't be able to utilise the 12 minute tune on the basis that it has an O2 sensor, only I intend to remove it with an 'eliminator' and blanking plug.

I am assuming the TPS reset procedure will simply be to double-click the TPS reset, switch the ignition off then back on again and let the engine idle for 1 minute.

Then what will the adaption procedure be? The same as the process outlined for the Sagem-Lamda ECU in the Tune ECU guidelines and which seems to be a fairly automatic process once certain engine parameters are met??

August 21, 2015, 07:12:58 PMReply #1 on

Offline nickjtc

  • Captain Buzzkill
  • Sumatran Tiger
  • *
  • Posts: 2270
  • Activity Meter:
    0%
  • LOCATION: Vernon, BC, Canada
I was under the impression that the adaptation procedure was the same whatever you did to change something to do with the fuelling or exhaust on the bike........... let the bike run for 12 minutes (15 minutes???), once warmed up (fan on the engine if it is hot in the garage). Other, more expert, members will probably chime in on this.
"That which does not kill us reminds us to wear motorcycle specific clothing!"

August 22, 2015, 08:03:49 PMReply #2 on

Offline Fentible (OP)

  • Tiger Cub
  • Posts: 45
  • Activity Meter:
    0%
  • nOObie
  • LOCATION: Gateshead, United Kingdom
The more I read the more confused I am, is a TPS reset necessary on this bike (Sagem with O2 sensor) is it part of the adaption reset process??  :icon_study:

AAaggh................help anyone??

August 22, 2015, 09:58:59 PMReply #3 on

Offline Bixxer Bob

  • Cool Cats
  • Chatty Cathy
  • *
  • Location: Norfolk, England
  • Posts: 5889
  • Activity Meter:
    0%
  • I make the mistakes so you don't have to.....
  • LOCATION: Norfolk, England
First, no - the TPS reset is only needed if, for some reason, the ECU loses track of the throttle position.  IF it's zero with the throttle closed and around 78% with it fully open, it doesn't need resetting.  If you mess with this while the bike is not running properly you can totally f**k it up to the point where you'll have a bugger of a job starting it let alone anything else.  I know, I've been there.

Next, the adaptation and 12 minute tune.  The adaptation process is for bikes with an o2 sensor.  To "adapt" it needs to meet the temperature etc parameters; the ECU will then read the O2 sensor, decide whether to weaken or richen the mixture, move the stepper motor accordingly and store that setting in the trim table (which you can't see). This may need to be repeated until the mixture is balanced.

The 12 minute tune is for bikes that don't have the O2 sensor and simply clears the trim tables (or so it is alleged, it's very difficult to determine, even from the official manuals, what Triumph were doing with some of the things that are talked about). Once the 12 min tune is complete, the idle trim may need to be adjusted manually with TuneECU until the the bike idles smoothly and picks up cleanly.

In both cases, all you are doing is adjusting the tickover position of the IACV which is the equivalent of setting the idle mixture on a carburettor.  Once the throttle is opened and the revs pick up you are off the IACV and onto the fuel and ign maps.

I hope this helps and remember;  just because you can adjust something doesn't mean you should.  I never tire of saying, these bikes are fickle, if they are running reasonably well, don't fuck with them.  Utopia (i.e. running like the last carb bike you had) doesn't exist.
I don't want to achieve immortality through prayer, I want to achieve it through not dying...

August 22, 2015, 10:56:20 PMReply #4 on

Offline nickjtc

  • Captain Buzzkill
  • Sumatran Tiger
  • *
  • Posts: 2270
  • Activity Meter:
    0%
  • LOCATION: Vernon, BC, Canada
I hope this helps and remember;  just because you can adjust something doesn't mean you should.  I never tire of saying, these bikes are fickle, if they are running reasonably well, don't fuck with them.  Utopia (i.e. running like the last carb bike you had) doesn't exist.

 :iagree If it ain't broke, why try to fix it?
"That which does not kill us reminds us to wear motorcycle specific clothing!"

August 22, 2015, 11:12:36 PMReply #5 on

Offline Mustang

  • Boo Berry Hollow
  • behind the curtain
  • Flying Monkey
  • *
  • Location: Frozen Wasteland, New Hampshah
  • Posts: 100461
  • Activity Meter:
    0%
  • WTF !
    • K&L CYCLE
  • LOCATION: Third Rock
  Utopia (i.e. running like the last carb bike you had) doesn't exist.
wait....what ??????????????


August 23, 2015, 04:13:01 AMReply #6 on

Offline nickjtc

  • Captain Buzzkill
  • Sumatran Tiger
  • *
  • Posts: 2270
  • Activity Meter:
    0%
  • LOCATION: Vernon, BC, Canada
"That which does not kill us reminds us to wear motorcycle specific clothing!"

August 23, 2015, 06:20:46 AMReply #7 on

Offline Fentible (OP)

  • Tiger Cub
  • Posts: 45
  • Activity Meter:
    0%
  • nOObie
  • LOCATION: Gateshead, United Kingdom
Thanks BB.............I'm a great believer in 'if its not broke don't fix it'. This is a learning curve for me for this bike, I also have a T509 Speed Triple with the MC2000 ECU and for which I have changed maps to suit varying induction and exhaust changes. I've always been advised to undertake a TPS reset after every change and which I have done. Also the version of Tune ECU (1.9.??) I use for the T509 and have on my old laptop, I'm fairly certain doesn't have 'Adaption reset' whereas the version I downloaded to this computer 2.5.5 does.

I guess the real question then;
My 04 Tiger 955i has the Sagem MC1000 ECU with the O2 sensor. When I picked the bike up it was running the TOR pipe but on the standard map 10120. I did get the original pipe with the bike so decided to run with the standard pipe for a while and found the bike a lot smoother. I put this down to the map complementing the pipe. Its a little bit jerky under 2K revs but to me that's just the character of the bike. However I like the note of the TOR can (its actually not that loud) so want to change the map to 10121 to suit. So if I change the map to suit the TOR pipe do I really need to do anything else?? :^_^

Thanks for the input  :thumbsup

Fent

August 23, 2015, 08:57:39 AMReply #8 on

Offline Bixxer Bob

  • Cool Cats
  • Chatty Cathy
  • *
  • Location: Norfolk, England
  • Posts: 5889
  • Activity Meter:
    0%
  • I make the mistakes so you don't have to.....
  • LOCATION: Norfolk, England
Short answer.....  No.

I'll give you a shout next time I'm up your way visiting relatives  :thumbsup
I don't want to achieve immortality through prayer, I want to achieve it through not dying...

August 23, 2015, 08:15:27 PMReply #9 on

Offline Fentible (OP)

  • Tiger Cub
  • Posts: 45
  • Activity Meter:
    0%
  • nOObie
  • LOCATION: Gateshead, United Kingdom