Author Topic: ECU check  (Read 73 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

January 02, 2019, 11:21:50 PM on

Offline Lee337 (OP)

  • Tiger Cub
  • Location: South Lincs
  • Posts: 45
  • Activity Meter:
    1.56%
  • nOObie (still)
  • LOCATION: Lincolnshire UK
This may be a silly question, but how do you check an ECU?

I was given a spare when I bought the bike (2006 model) last year but I've no idea if it's ok. I have TuneECU so is it as simple as removing the existing one from the bike ( which is working fine, I just want to check the spare) & connecting up the spare to check it or am I missing something?
No matter how smart you are you can never convince someone stupid that they are stupid.

January 03, 2019, 08:48:41 AMReply #1 on

Offline Timbox2

  • Sumatran Tiger
  • *
  • Location: South Wales, UK
  • Posts: 2064
  • Activity Meter:
    1.11%
Cant think of any other way, I know Bixxer (John) messed about with spare ECU's so maybe he can give tips, I believe the base ECU was shared with other bikes so you need to make sure it has a Tiger map loaded before you run the bike
2016 Tiger Sport

January 03, 2019, 12:10:40 PMReply #2 on

Offline Lee337 (OP)

  • Tiger Cub
  • Location: South Lincs
  • Posts: 45
  • Activity Meter:
    1.56%
  • nOObie (still)
  • LOCATION: Lincolnshire UK
Yep, checking the map was one of the things I wanted to do, as well as check that it was working.
No matter how smart you are you can never convince someone stupid that they are stupid.

January 04, 2019, 07:55:14 AMReply #3 on

Offline Chris Canning

  • Sumatran Tiger
  • *
  • Location: Birmingham England
  • Posts: 3823
  • Activity Meter:
    1.33%
Do a search Bixxer posted loads about ‘Bricking’ an ECU.