News:

Welcome to the TigerTriple forum! Over the years we have gathered lots of great information on all things Triumph Tiger. Besides that, this is a great community that is willing to help you keep your Tiger moving. So, feel welcome! Also, try the search button for answers to your questions. If you have any questions, PM me on ghulst.

Main Menu

Need help with torque Wrenches and other tools

Started by alpinestart, June 10, 2006, 11:52:51 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

alpinestart

It's time for me to do some work on my '01 Tiger.

Naturally, I'll need the right torque wrench(es) to do the job... it looks as if the torque settings range anywhere from 2 to 132 Nm in the manual for the various parts.

Since I've never used a torque wrench before, I don't know jack about what I should buy.

I would be grateful if someone who has the right tools could line me out. I need specifics. Links would be great too.

Thanks in advance.
- Go Vertical

Brother Number One

My torque wrench is about a foot long, easy to use, and I've had it for about a hundred years.  I'd just get one that suits my budget, if I were you.  Others may shout me down, but I worry less about the higher torques, I just swing off a normal socket wrench; it's the lower torques, on the smaller components, that you need the t.wrench for.  On many bikes, not Triumphs in particular, the sump plug is a favourite for thread stripping so I am always very careful there.

Be cool & good luck  :D
2015-16 USA & C.America: http://sawthingsclearer.com (click it, click it, click iiiit) 04 silver Tiger, Touratech Zega panniers, CCC titanium can, NWS hugger

kevm