TigerTriple.com

Girly Bikes 1999 - 2006 Tigers => Girly Talk => Engine and Transmission => Topic started by: Ron in Buffalo on July 11, 2017, 07:43:39 PM

Title: Running on 2 cycliners
Post by: Ron in Buffalo on July 11, 2017, 07:43:39 PM
Help got up this morning went to go for aride it started up normally. Got out of driveway came to the first stop when I exclarated the bike it pop and it was running on 2 cycliners. Two weeks ago I had the gas tank off and put it back on in the process I knock the radiator cap lose and it leak after I started it. I close the cap and after I started the bike the engine light came on and never went off. I rode it a 1000 miles this past week with the engine light on no problems until this morning any and all help would be appreciated.
Title: Re: Running on 2 cycliners
Post by: John Stenhouse on July 11, 2017, 10:01:08 PM
When you say a thousand miles this week, how many times did you let the bike stop and cool right down again? The light should go off after three cold to hot cycles. If you've done more than that you have something bringing a fault code up repeatedly.

When you tightened the rad cap did you take the tank off to do that?

First guess would be a coil.
Title: Re: Running on 2 cycliners
Post by: Ron in Buffalo on July 11, 2017, 10:08:02 PM
John I did take tank off to tighten radiator cap off. Yes I let the engine cool 3 times light stay on. Also it's running on 2 cycliners now.
Title: Re: Running on 2 cycliners
Post by: John Stenhouse on July 11, 2017, 10:14:38 PM
So, from that, theres a code coming up repeatedly, time to take the tank off again I'm afraid.

Check all your vac lines and the IACV valve piping, then if all that's intact try swapping a coil from the working cylinder to the non working one.

Unless you have a lap top and cable for tune ecu?
Title: Re: Running on 2 cycliners
Post by: Ron in Buffalo on July 11, 2017, 11:44:11 PM
John I have a old laptop that has Windows 7, I use it with my gs911 on my k1200rs. What cord do I need and what software do I need to download. Not affaid of take tank off again. So  I got a place to start. I appreciate you offer advise so quickly. Ron
Title: Re: Running on 2 cycliners
Post by: Ron in Buffalo on July 12, 2017, 02:04:11 AM
John I just bought a VAG 409 KKL + Fiat ECU Scan I hope this is the right unit off of eBay. It will be Tuesday. Ron
Title: Re: Running on 2 cycliners
Post by: John Stenhouse on July 12, 2017, 08:52:31 AM
Ron, all you need is in the sticky section at the top of the page, link here

http://www.tigertriple.com/forum/index.php/topic,8852.0.html
Title: Re: Running on 2 cycliners
Post by: John Stenhouse on July 12, 2017, 08:54:52 AM
It isn't difficult, My windows 7 laptop does it just fine so I can't see you having too many problems
Title: Re: Running on 2 cycliners
Post by: Ron in Buffalo on July 31, 2017, 09:41:55 PM
Well got the back to the tiger. I had a coil pack torx bolt was strip. I replace it and 2 others with helicoils for a total of 3. I put it back together use the tuneecu(man that was a nightmare but I did get it working) clear all error code. Started it up it idles Very Rough.  Also the boot on #2 coil pack is torn. Guys as always I would appreciate all and any assistance on what I need to do next.
Title: Re: Running on 2 cycliners
Post by: Timbox2 on August 01, 2017, 05:34:50 AM
Well got the back to the tiger. I had a coil pack torx bolt was strip. I replace it and 2 others with helicoils for a total of 3. I put it back together use the tuneecu(man that was a nightmare but I did get it working) clear all error code. Started it up it idles Very Rough.  Also the boot on #2 coil pack is torn. Guys as always I would appreciate all and any assistance on what I need to do next.

Slow down Ron, you cleared the error codes but what were they? They could be a clue to whats wrong
Title: Re: Running on 2 cycliners
Post by: Ron in Buffalo on August 05, 2017, 08:46:11 PM
Long story not going to bore with details. But the laptop I was using was a POS. So I  I got tried of trying to make it work so I went to Best Buy and bought an Android tablet. Then I went to Google Play Store and bought the TuneECU app. I put it on the bike and work like a charm. I know my fuel sensor is bad and has been bad for a long time. However on the ignition coil what is my next step. So here error codes that the Tuneecu app showed.

PO351
Ignition coil 1 circuit malfunction

PO462
Fuel level  sensor circuit low input

P1351
Ignition coil 1, open circuit or short circuit

Again any help is appreciated. Thanks Ron
Title: Re: Running on 2 cycliners
Post by: Timbox2 on August 06, 2017, 06:00:46 AM
So, tank off again Im afraid,  swap coil 1 with 2 or 3, all back together and try again. If fault moves its the coil, if it doesnt its the wiring
Title: Re: Running on 2 cycliners
Post by: Ron in Buffalo on August 06, 2017, 03:58:18 PM
Thanks Tim will do I will post results.
Title: Re: Running on 2 cycliners
Post by: Ron in Buffalo on August 20, 2017, 07:17:32 AM
To those who are interested I had to reprogrammed the ecu map. Now it purs like a kitten. Thanks Ron
Title: Re: Running on 2 cycliners
Post by: Ron in Buffalo on August 21, 2017, 12:44:40 AM
I lied still having issue with ecu map let see where Mr. Dirt moves this one.
Title: Re: Running on 2 cycliners
Post by: JoeDirt on August 21, 2017, 03:41:01 PM
I lied still having issue with ecu map let see where Mr. Dirt moves this one.

I am with Timbox on this one... see if you can move the problem around. If you have a striped hold down on the cover, it will not be grounded well enough. So, your helicoil should have fixed the ground issue. I am concerned about your boot being ripped. The coil pack might have been handle poorly by previous mechanic/owner. I would go on eBay and buy a set of used coils for cheap. People get a wrecked bike and sell all three together. I got a set for around $50 a couple of years back. It's nice to have extras to try. Also, the chances of all three being bad is very high. Even if you get one that is good you are money ahead. Or, you can buy a coil pack (triumph #T1290006) from dealership/bikebandit.com for $135USD. I keep an extra one in my bike bags with some other goodies that might break.

~JD
Title: Re: Running on 2 cycliners
Post by: Ron in Buffalo on August 21, 2017, 08:13:10 PM
Valve cover charnge all wires tested. All  code errors gone however having  ecu issues.
Title: Re: Running on 2 cycliners
Post by: Bixxer Bob on August 21, 2017, 09:49:27 PM
Just PM'd Ron some ideas to sort his rough running, we'll see how he gets on.....
Title: Re: Running on 2 cycliners
Post by: Ron in Buffalo on October 12, 2017, 02:05:40 PM
update put 3 spark plugs in it runs like a charm